allow fsarchive images to be mounted

Post here if you want to request a features that has not been implemented yet
Post Reply
mbiebl
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:02 pm

allow fsarchive images to be mounted

Post by mbiebl » Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:33 pm

If I only want to restore certain files from an archive, it would be handy if fsarchiver image could be mounted and browsed just like a local file system.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:12 pm

Re: allow fsarchiver images to be mounted

Post by admin » Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:13 pm

fsarchiver is an archiver. It creates archives in a sequential order and it supports splitting. Once the first volume has been written, it can be burnt on a DVD and removed from the disk to make space for the next volume. A volume is not modified as soon as the next one has been created so that the user is not forced to have all the volume on the disk.

To mount a file it has to be a filesystem. It can't support splitting, or it would need all the volumes to be available when we mount the loopback filesystem. In the file things are organized in a different way. For instance all the inodes are in one particular place.

So I don't think we can provide splitting and mounting in the same time. Or it will have important limitations (all volumes must be on the disk). And this is a huge project with kernel develpment. I think it should be something very similar to squashfs with more attributes. Basically squashfs is focused on space, so it does not store all the files attributes. We could implement the same sort of thing with extra information: checksums, extended attributes, ... It would require a huge amount of time anyway, so it's not doable in the short term.

Susah
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:56 am

Re: allow fsarchive images to be mounted

Post by Susah » Sun Jun 02, 2013 12:30 pm

So if that's case, add a flag that disable both splitting and compression so that the resulting image can be mounted?

Leo123
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 6:25 am

Re: allow fsarchive images to be mounted

Post by Leo123 » Wed Jan 08, 2014 6:57 am

To mount a file it has to be a filesystem. It can't support splitting, or it would need all the volumes to be available when we mount the loopback filesystem. In the file things are organized in a different way. For instance all the inodes are in one particular place.

Post Reply