Windows backup LABEL unknown

Post here if you have questions about how to use the program
vento
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:13 am

Windows backup LABEL unknown

Postby vento » Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:38 pm

Hi,
I'm using a sysrescd 1.5.5 (cdrom) to backup data (images & texts) from WindowsXP after its startup stoped working.

At the farchiver prove detailed:

[loop0][squashfs][unknown][203.45MB][7][0]
[/dev/loop0][unknown]

[sda1][ntfs][unknown][134.90GB][8][1]
[/dev/sd1][08F04849F0483F66]

[sda2][ntfs][HP-RECOVERY][14.15GB][8][2]
[/dev/sda2][FAFC5F307C5EE703]

I wrote:

ntfs-3g/dev/sda1/mnt/windows

I got:
The disk contains au unclean file system (0,0)
The file system wasn't safely closed on Windows. Fixing



Wrote again:

ntfs-3g/dev/sda1/mnt/windows

got:

ntfs-3g-mount: mount failed: Device or resource busy.

I saw related material without knowing how to go any further, since everywhere a label is specifided and mine is unknown:

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s ... ent=safari

http://www.sysresccd.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2641

http://www.sysresccd.org/Sysresccd-manu ... the_CD-ROM

Quickstart and sysrescd manual included readed too...

Own notebook:
HP Compaq 6715s
processor type 64x2 mobile TL-60
speed 2000 MHZ
cache size64/512 KB
memory size 1024MB
Root data 07/16/2007
ROMBIOS versio F.07

HDD self test 1, 2 & 3 done and succeeded

I have bein using rescuecd (Default for 32bit systems, with Framebuffer disabled, best choice....)
Have I lost all my data?...I just need/want to copy all to the external drive....

Thanks a lot for your help, as you notice I'm brand new in these matters.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:12 pm

Re: Windows backup LABEL unknown

Postby admin » Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:28 pm

It seems to be a SystemRescueCd question, what's the link with fsarchiver ?

It sounds that the first mount command just worked even if you have a warning.
Hence you cannot mount it twice

You should fix your NTFS filesystem using either:
1) "ntfsfix /dev/sda1" under Linux (type "man ntfsfix" for help)
2) "chkdsk c: /x /f" under window (check the options are correct)

You should read the following documentation:
Backup data from an unbootable windows computer

floor9
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:00 pm

Re: Windows backup LABEL unknown

Postby floor9 » Wed Jun 23, 2010 3:42 pm

If you're attempting to use fsarchiver, there's no need to mount the partition. Simply unmount it and run fsarchiver:

Code: Select all

umount /dev/sda1


Then mount your destination device (where you intend to save the FSA file) and run fsarchiver to take a snapshot of the filesystem. Assuming your destination device (such as an external hard drive) is /dev/sdb1, is NTFS, and you want it mounted to /mnt/external:

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/external
ntfs-3g /dev/sdb1 /mnt/external
fsarchiver savefs -z4 -j3 -v /mnt/external/xprescue.fsa /dev/sda1
umount /dev/sdb1


Adjust options as desired. Then, if you want to try mounting your NTFS filesystem, you might be able to mount it read-only with just:

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows


YMMV, be careful, good luck, etc. :)

vento
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:13 am

Re: Windows backup LABEL unknown

Postby vento » Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:23 pm

Thank you very much for your posts admin & floor9...!!
yes, I'll be very careful...


Return to “How to use FSArchiver”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests