Is fsarchiver network capable?

Please ask questions here if you are not familiar with fsarchiver
feffer777

Is fsarchiver network capable?

Post by feffer777 » Sun May 23, 2010 5:41 am

I have been using partimage for a couple of years to back up client linux OSs. I run it in my LAN from a server. The script I use can be run as a cron job, so coupled with ssh, partimage will back up remote clients in unattended mode. This works well on my multiboot linux machines. The booted client can't be cloned of course, but the other OS partitions can. However, since partimage is no longer actively being developed, and will not handle ext4 and has other issues, I'm looking for another solution.

I have tested rsync and it works remotely and in unattended scripts. It has many good features, and is especially good for my data partitions. It also works for OS partitions, but I have not settled on it. I'm thinking that in addition, it would be good to have OS backups based on fsarchiver.

I do not want to run fsarchiver from SysrescueCD, but rather from the server. I have it installed in my server now running debian squeeze. Is it possible to backup unbooted client partitions remotely? I didn't see networking mentioned in the wiki or forum, though. Even if it's not currently a feature, I'm wondering if there would be a way to do or test it. Not all of the linux OSs I run have fsarchiver in their repos, so there is no option to install it to all the client machines currently. I can construct a server script to mount a client /dev/partition, and was thinking that I could then mount a smbfs share on the server and perhaps use that in the fsarchiver script. Am I off base here? Is there a better or any way to do this?

Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Regards,
feffer

EDIT: OK I just saw a previous post about networking. So it sounds like smbfs or sshfs might be possible. Any more details about what this might look like?

admin
Site Admin

Re: Is fsarchiver network capable?